My Kinetic Day By: Dillon Romano

Hi my name is Dillon. On Monday September 14, I built a rollercoaster with lot’s of kinetic energy. Kinetic energy is an energy that is in motion. My question was will the bouncy ball have more kinetic energy when released at a higher height or a lower height through the Loopty loop? Before I did the experiment, I took notes, I watched brain pop, I took a quiz, and I took a field trip to the playground.

My hypothesis was, “I think that the ball will have more kinetic energy when released at the higher point.” To test my hypothesis I taped a foam track against the wall and made a loopty loop that went into a cup… Then I released the ball down the rollercoaster from the higher height . I did three trials. All three trials made it in the cup. They all went down so fast. Then I dropped the ball from the lower height that had the same amount of track. All three trials made it in the cup too.

When the ball was released from the higher height it averaged:1.373 seconds. When the ball was released from the lower height it averaged:1.393 seconds. My hypothesis was right. The ball had more kinetic energy when released at the higher height.

Leave a comment